Segmentation from a neuroscience perspective

How homogenous are target groups really?

It is obvious that a target group ought to comprise of people with identical motives and goals, value ideas and behavioral patterns.

Many of the established segmentation models define a target group either based on sociodemographic criteria (gender, age, income, location etc.) or psychographic characteristic traits, such as introverted vs. extroverted, traditional vs. modern, upper class vs. lower class and others. The question is, if these target groups necessarily feature the same motives and values? If not, how can marketing activities and advertising trigger ‘wanting’ in the subconscious part of the brain, if ‘wanting’ is based on motives and values?

The psychographic segmentation according to LimbiCODE® personas

One homogenous target group

People who have the same or similar motives and values decode messages similarly as a reward, punishment or as irrelevant. Of course, gender, age and income are relevant which is why the LimbiCODE® segmentation also includes sociodemographic factors. Interestingly, today people with the same limbic profile but  very different age groups still act similarly. Thus it’s no surprise that we find at an Open Air Concert or on a trekking trip to the Himalayas participants who’s ages are as far apart as 40 years. On top: Not everyone owning an expensive watch or a sports car is necessarily wealthy, but the limbic profile of people, who act in a certain way, is identical or at least very similar.

 

What we know about the six LimbiCODE® personas

Based on LimbiCODE® tests as well as research during the past ten years, we know the following aspects of the six LimbiCODE® personas:

  • Motives
  • Value system
  • Behavior (anxious, courageous, open, introvert, extrovert, etc.)
  • Attitude (progressive, conservative)
  • Style of speech and word choice (direct, clear, hard, discriminating, integrating, harmonious, etc.)
  • Music style
  • Colour preferences
  • Design preferences (important for interior design of shops, product design, packaging design, etc.)
  • Preferences for certain kind of stories (important for advertising)
  • Dramaturgy of advertising

 

By linking the limbic positioning of panel participants, we have detailed information about

  • Sociodemographics (gender, age, domicile, education, income)
  • Shopping behavior
  • Media consumption
  • Car brand
  • Online and offline affinity

The limbic instructions

The three limbic instructions are governed by hormones and neurotransmitters respectively

Our personalities are shaped by genes, epigenetic processes as well as experiences. These factors are responsible for the varying levels of hormones and neurotransmitters in every person. These messenger substances govern the way we act. Imagine a control system operating three influencing factors (instructions), which work on the subconscious level.
Every person has a certain part of each of these three instructions. The individual personality profile – the motives and values as such – is shaped by the specific characteristic of these instructions.

 

What personality characteristics are the three instructions responsible for?

The more dominant an instruction is, the clearer the motives and values are apparent in a person.

Motives, values and behavior of the six LimbiCODE® personas

Nomen est Omen

In order to simplify the work with these personas, the names of the six types relate to the main motive of each persona. This has its advantages but may also cause confusion at the same time. If a term has a negative connotation in a user’s mind, he or she will find it difficult to get over that negative connotation and to see the personality in all its facets. It is vital, however, that the terms “preserver”, “performer”, “hedonist”, “harmoniser”, the “disciplined” and “pioneer” are being perceived as an abstract and that negative or positive connotations are being ignored.

Main motives, values and behavior of all six LimbiCODE® personas

Short and concise

The description of the six personas is, of course, a major simplification and focusses only on the most important aspects. Needless to say, that the individual segments are far more complex and have a greater variety of facets,  but the consolidation  allows for easier recall of the main characteristics and thus is much user-friendlier.

The LimbiCODE® map of Switzerland

Validity and reliability of the LimbiCODE® tests

In cooperation with the Zurich University of applied Science (ZHAW), Winterthur (Dr. Kurt Ackermann / Dr. Nina Heim), a test was developed, which allows to draw up the limbic profile of the Swiss population.

The ZHAW confirmed the reliability of the LimbiCODE® test regarding the following criteria:

  • Validity (factor analysis)
  • Reliability (Cronbach’s Alpha, α=.70)

 

ZHAW certificate (PDF)

 

Our cooperation partner intervista market research verified the following criteria:

  • Re-test reliability in February 2020 with the same test panel (n=500)

 

Quantification of the target group

In addition to the psychographic data we can subdivide each target group along sociodemographic parameters. In order to calculate the market potential, we can subdivide the six LimbiCODE®  persona according to gender, age, education, income and language region.

The distribution of LimbiCODE® personas in Switzerland (some examples)

Are you really happy with a 70% flop rate?

Why is there a flop rate in consumer goods concepts of 70% and more despite market research?

Many companies rely on market research to test products or advertising prior to their launch. Many market research aspects, however, deliver primarily analysis in the area of explicit – the conscious – systems and neglect the implicit influence, which is the crucial area.

There are, however, more reasons why standard market research cannot prevent most flops.

 

Clustering of statements and evaluations

When analyzing market research results, often the core target groups’ answers are simply being assessed based on their sociographic criteria. However, when analyzing the results based on limbic segmentation, we found that the survey participants almost always had different limbic profiles.

So based on sociographic aspects alone it is not clear, if the target group has reacted positive or negative – which would be core information in order to take marketing decisions.

The analysis of market research results based on psychographic profiles (LimbiCODE® personas) offers an interesting alternative to established segmentation models. So if the test results are segmented into the six limbic types, they are significantly more meaningful, as the values and motives of the various types are known and the answers / valuations are therefore of greater relevance.

 

“Liking” and “Wanting” are based on two fundamentally different valuation systems From a neurobiological point of view there are two different impulses, which are processed in different areas of our brain and which are controlled by different hormones / neuro transmitters. Unfortunately, it is impossible to distinguish these differences within cognitive market research.

We may “like” things, but still won’t buy them. “Liking” is a valuation, which originates in the explicit system, i.e. the conscious thinking. You may like a certain dress or restaurant and rate it with an ‘8’ on a 1-10 scale. However, various aspects such as the price, the location, a lack of occasion to wear the dress or other circumstances may prevent you from buying/dining there. For example, when offsetting the price vs the value (reward vs punishment) “liking” is to weak to compensate the ‘punishment’ perceived by the potential loss of money (or other aspects).

To trigger a purchase, “want” is needed, which originates in the limbic system (reward system). “Want” can be so strong that people purchase items, whether having the financial means or not or other aspects clearly stand against the purchase or use of the item in question. Whenever possible, we should opt to measure the “want” rather than the “like”.

 

Explicit vs. implicit test method

Some questions such as the assessment of flights or hotels can by means of explicit market research easily be answered. Using an implicit test procedure in this specific case would be very difficult, if not impossible.
Implicit research methods include picture association tests, which are based on the response-time-paradigm, observations of behavior or eye tracking proceedures online or in a tachistoscope or emotion tracking.
Implicit motivations are “automatic“, “spontaneous“ and “intuitive”, but verbal expression is very limited, thus to try measuring these motivations explicitly will not results in reliable insights.
Specifically when assessing visual stimuli such as advertisements, posters, TV spots, etc. implicit research methods are better suited, as they give indications regarding the emotions which are based on the subject’s individual motive and value system.

LimbiCODE® in pratice

Analysis and comparison of the Ticinella-TV spots from 2009 and 2013

With a self-initiated and financed survey (n=967),  two TV spots of the brand Ticinella were revaluated by the ‘Institut für limbische Kommunikation’ using the method “emotional tracking” and LimbiCODE® segmentation.

The emotion curves show how the various sequences appeal to the subjects in a positive or negative way. The cumulative results point already to certain conclusions, but only the analysis of the emotions according to LimbiCODE® shows whether the target audience rated the TV spots favorable or not. The analysis of the limbic personas not belonging to the core target audience only have value in the context of a cross-check, but remain irrelevant for the evaluation of effectiveness.

Method “emotional tracking” measures feeling, not thinking

This market research method requires the respondents to rate the TV spots appeal while watching it by moving the mouse to the left (if negative) or right (if positive). Since there is only very little time to make the assessment, this method generates a strongly implicit response, meaning the assessment is mainly influenced by feelings rather than the mind.
The emotional tracking scale ranges from –500 to +500. These extremes, however, have never been reached in practical use as survey participants don’t move the mouse so extensively.
TV spot assessments ranging below +200 must be regarded as unsatisfying.

Target group of the brand Ticinella

In order to assess the TV spot, the limbic core target group had to be defined.
As this project was not conducted on behalf of the producer (Rapelli), we based the target group assessment on our experience. Placing the target group in the southern part of the LimbiCODE® hexagon, is based on the following facts:

  • Distribution: the main distribution channel is Coop
  • Pricing: the brand is neither part of Coop’s premiumtier nor in the low-price category, but in the mid-price segment
  • Market research: The assessment of the emotion curve of the2013 TVspot supports the assumption that the target group is based in the southern part of theLimbiCODE® hexagon

LimbiCODE® in market research

TV Spot 2009

Evaluation of the TV spot Ticinella 2009
(Women & Men, Age segment 14 – 65 years)

Interpretation of the emotion curves

  • The first thing to notice is that the TV spot appeals most to performers, who, however, are not part of the target group. The aspects ‘luxury’ and ‘erotism’ are the predominant reasons why it appeals to that segment. Analyzing the TV spot according to gender shows, that men are more responsive than woman, which is not ideal since 75% of all shopping (source: survey by Migros 2010) is conducted by women.
  • Preservers and the disciplined, who belong to the target group, didn’t really respond well to the spot (values between 40 and 110)
  • Harmonisers who are also part of the target group, rejected the spot altogether
  • Thehedonists and pioneers evaluate the spot as mediocre, but are not target group
  • The spot appeals more to men than women, which is not surprising at all
  • The overall evaluation according to theLimbiCODE® personas and gendershows, that the spot does not appeal to the target group.

TV Spot 2013

Evaluation of the TV Spot Ticinella 2013
(Women & Men, age segment 14 – 65 years)

Interpretation of the emotion curves

  • The 2013 spot appeals much better to the target group than the one of 2009
  • However, due to the emotional curves even the 2013 TV spot has room for improvement
  • The spot is evaluated best by the disciplined and preservers, which are the core target audience
  • Performers and pioneers remain neutral, which is neither a disadvantage nor crucial, as both personas are not part of the target group
  • The somewhat clichéd intro,as well as the premium concept (ingredients), and the (slightly erotic) togetherness while eating result in the lowest scores from the hedonists and harmonisers, since these two personas have a different value set
  • The spot appeals more to women, who conduct about 75% of all shopping (source: survey by Migros 2010)
  • The 2013 spot scores much better than the one of 2009 and it appeals to the limbic target audience as well as to women. The spot, however, has optimizing potential.

Conclusion

  • Based on the scores, the 2009 spot (below) can only be described as weak. Moreover, it’s evaluated best by performers, which is a clear sign that neither pictures nor story correspond with the motives and values of the actual target audience (preservers, disciplined and harmonizers), which is why it cannot get decoded in a positive way.
  • The 2013 spot is much better. It appeals to the preservers and disciplined, who form a major part of the target group. The spot, however, does not appeal to the harmonizers, who also belong to the target group.
  • The 2013 spot has some optimization potential. Based on a detailed analysis of the emotion curves, certain sequences could be changed in order to align them better with the harmonizers’ motives and values.

Segmentierung aus neurowissenschaftlicher Sicht

Wie homogen sind Zielgruppen wirklich?

Es liegt auf der Hand, dass eine Zielgruppe Menschen umfassen sollte, welche identische Motive bzw. Ziele, Wertvorstellungen und Verhaltensweisen haben.
Viele der gängigen Segmentierungsmodelle definieren die Zielgruppe entweder anhand von soziodemografischen Merkmalen (Geschlecht, Alter, Kaufkraft, Klasse, Wohnort, etc.) oder aber anhand von psychografischen Merkmalen wie introvertiert vs. extrovertiert, aussengerichtet vs. innengerichtet, traditionell vs. modern, Oberschicht vs. Unterschicht und andere mehr. Es stellt sich die Frage, ob diese Zielgruppen zwangsläufig die gleichen Motive und Werte ausweisen?Wenn nicht:, Wie können Marketing und Werbung eine auf Motiven und Werten basierende Handlung beziehungsweise das „Wanting“ im unterbewussten Teil des Gehirns auslösen?

Die psychografische Segmentierung nach LimbiCODE® Personas

Eine homogene Zielgruppe

Menschen, welche über die gleichen oder ähnlichen Motive und Werte verfügen, decodieren die gleichen Botschaften als Belohnung, als Bestrafung oder als irrelevant. Natürlich spielt auch das Geschlecht, das Alter und die Kaufkraft eine Rolle, weshalb die LimbiCODE Segmentierung auch soziodemografische Faktoren einbezieht. Interessanterweise verhalten sich Menschen unterschiedlichen Alters aber mit dem gleichen limbischen Profil sehr ähnlich. So finden wir an Open-Air-Konzerten oder beim Trekken im Himalaya Menschen mit Jahrgängen, die 40 Jahre auseinander liegen. Und auch nicht jeder, der eine teure Uhr besitzt oder ein sportliches Auto fährt, ist zwingend wohlhabend. Aber das limbische Profil von Menschen, welche sich in einer bestimmten Weise verhalten, ist identisch oder mindestens sehr ähnlich.

 

Was wir über die 6 LimbiCODE® Personas wissen

Auf Basis unseres LimbiCODE Tests sowie von Forschungen der letzten 10 Jahre kennen wir von den 6 LimbiCODE Personas die folgenden Aspekte:

  • Motive
  • Wertehaltung
  • Verhalten (ängstlich, mutig, offen, verschlossen, extravertiert, introvertiert, etc.)
  • Denkstil (progressiv, konservativ)
  • Sprachstil und Wortwahl (direkt, klar, hart, diskriminierend, integrierend, harmonisch, etc.)
  • Musikstil
  • Farbpräferenzen
  • Designpräferenzen (wichtig für Ladeneinrichtungen, Produktdesign, Packungsdesign, etc.)
  • Präferenzen für eine bestimmte Art von Stories (wichtig für die Werbung)
  • Dramaturgie der Werbung

 

Durch die limbische Verortung von Panel-Teilnehmern verfügen wir auch über detaillierte Daten zu

  • Soziodemographie (Geschlecht, Alter, Wohnort, Bildung, Einkommen)
  • Shoppingverhalten
  • Medienkonsum
  • Automarke
  • Online- / Offlineaffinität

Die limbischen Instruktionen

Die 3 limbischen Instruktionen werden durch Hormone bzw. Neurotransmitter gesteuert

Unsere Persönlichkeit wird von Genen, epigenetischen Prozessen sowie Erfahrungen geprägt. Diese Faktoren führen dazu, dass der Spiegel an Hormonen und Neurotransmittern bei jedem Menschen unterschiedlich hoch ist. Diese Botenstoffe sind es, welche unser Verhalten steuern. Als Modell kann man sich die Steuerung über 3 Einflussfaktoren (Instruktionen) vorstellen, welche auf der Eben des Unterbewusstseins aktiv sind.
Jeder Mensch verfügt über Anteile von jeder der 3 Instruktionen. Das individuelle Persönlichkeitsprofil, also die Motive und Werte, wird durch die Ausprägung einer bestimmten Instruktion geprägt

Für welche Persönlichkeitsmerkmale sind die 3 Instruktionen verantwortlich?

Je stärker die Ausprägung einer Instruktion, desto klarer treten die Motive und Werte bei einer Person in Erscheinung.

Motive, Werte und Verhalten der 6 LimbiCODE® Personas

Nomen est Omen

Um das Arbeiten mit den Personas einfach zu machen, sind die Namen der 6 Typen an das Hauptmotiv angelehnt. Das hat Vorteile, kann aber gleichzeitig auch irreführend sein. Wenn ein Begriff im Gehirn eines Betrachters negativ konnotiert ist, kann es dieser Person schwerfallen, sich vom konnotierten Inhalt zu lösen und alle Facetten der Persönlichkeit zu sehen. Die 6 Personas nur nach Farben zu benennen wäre eine Möglichkeit, aber es existieren bereits entsprechende Modelle, was zu Verwirrung führen würde.

Wichtig ist, dass wir die Begriffe Bewahrer, Performer, Hedonisten, Harmoniser, Disziplinierte und Pioniere abstrakt sehen und sowohl negative als auch positive Konnotationen ausser Acht lassen.

Hauptmotive, Werte und Verhalten der 6 LimbiCODE® Personas

Kurz und prägnant

Die Beschreibung der 6 Personas stellt eine starke Vereinfachung dar und konzentriert sich auf das Wesentliche. Selbstverständlich sind die einzelnen Typen komplexer und facettenreicher, aber die Reduktion auf die Kernpunkte macht das Arbeiten mit den 6 Personas einfacher, weil man sich die Hauptmerkmale leicht einprägen kann.

Die LimbiCODE® Map der Schweiz

Validität und Reliabilität des LimbiCODE® Tests

In Zusammenarbeit mit der ZHAW Winterthur (Dr. Kurt Ackermann / Dr. Nina Heim) haben wir einen Test entwickelt, mit welchem die limbischen Profile der Schweizer Bevölkerung erhoben werden können.

Die ZHAW bestätigt, dass der LimbiCODE Test auf folgende Kriterien überprüft wurde

  • Validität (Faktorenanalyse)
  • Reliabilität (Cronbachs Alpha, α=.70)

 

Validierungsbericht LimbiCODE (PDF)

 

Durch unseren Kooperationspartner intervista Marktforschung wurden folgenden Kritikern überprüft

  • Re-Test Reliabilität nach 3 Monaten mit den gleichen Probanden (n=500)

 

Quantifizierung der Zielgruppe

Neben den psychografischen Daten können wir jede beliebige Zielgruppe zusätzlich nach soziodemografischen Parametern unterteilen; zur Berechnung des Marktpotential z.B. nach den Parametern Geschlecht, Alter, Bildung, Einkommen und Sprachregion.

Die Verteilung der LimbiCODE® Personas in der Schweiz (einige Beispiele)

Sind Sie mit einer Floprate von 70% wirklich zufrieden?

Warum liegt die Floprate bei Konsumgütern, trotz Markforschung, bei 70% und mehr?

Viele Firmen vertrauen auf Marktforschung, um Produkte oder Werbung zu testen, bevor diese auf den Markt kommen. Marktforschung liefert jedoch überwiegend Analysen aus dem Bereich des expliziten Systems – also dem Bewussten – und vernachlässigt den in Wahrheit entscheidenden impliziten Bereich.

Es gibt aber noch weitere Gründe, weshalb Marktforschung die meisten Flops nicht verhindert.

 

Clustern von Aussagen und Bewertungen

Bei der Auswertung von Marktforschungs-Resultaten werden Aussagen von Testpersonen, welche nach soziodemografischen Kriterien zur gleichen Zielgruppe gehören, geclustert. Wenn wir jedoch die limbischen Profile der Probanden-Cluster analysieren anschauen, stellen wir fest, dass die Probanden so gut wie immer unterschiedliche limbische Profile haben.

Das bedeutet, dass wir nicht sagen können, ob die Zielgruppe eine Frage positiv oder negativ beantwortet hat, was aber zwingend notwendig wäre, um Marketing-Entscheidungen zu treffen.

Die Auswertungen von Markforschungsresultaten nach psychografischen Profilen (LimbiCODE-Personas) bietet hier eine interessante Alternative zu gängigen Segmentierungsmodellen. Wenn die Antworten der Probanden den 6 limbischen Typen zugeordnet werden, sind sie deutlich aussagekräftiger, da die Werte und Motive der einzelnen Typen bekannt sind und die Antworten / Bewertungen deshalb eine hohe Relevanz aufweisen.

 

„Liking“ und „Wanting“ basieren auf zwei grundverschiedene Bewertungssystemen

Aus neurobiologscher Sicht sind Liking und Wanting unterschiedliche Impulse, welche im Hirn an unterschiedlichen Stellen verarbeitet und durch unterschiedliche Hormone / Neurotransmitter gesteuert werden. Es ist leider sehr schwierig in der Marktforschung diesen Unterschied zu erforschen.

Wir können Dinge „liken“ (mögen), werden sie aber trotzdem nicht kaufen. „Liking“ ist eine Bewertung, welche dem expliziten System, also dem bewussten Denken entspringt. Jemand kann ein elegantes Kleid oder ein Restaurant schön finden und auf einer Skala von 1 – 10 mit den Wert 8 „liken“. Aspekte wie der Preis, das Image oder die Ökologie könnten aber die Person dennoch davon abhalten, das Kleid zu kaufen oder in einem bestimmten Restaurant essen zu gehen. Bei der Güterabwägung Leistung vs. Preis (Belohnung vs. Bestrafung) ist „Liking“ zu schwach, um die „Bestrafung“ durch Geldverlust (oder andere Aspekte) auszugleichen.

Für einen Kauf braucht es „Wanting“, welches dem limbischen System (Belohnungssystem) entspringt. „Wanting“ kann so stark sein, dass sich Leute Dinge leisten, obwohl sie eigentlich nicht über die finanziellen Ressourcen verfügen oder obwohl andere Aspekte gegen den Kauf oder die Nutzung sprechen. Wenn immer möglich sollten wir also das „Wanting“ erfassen und nicht das „Liking“ abfragen.

 

Explizite versus implizite Testmethoden

Es gibt Fragestellungen, welche mittels expliziter Marktforschung gut beantwortet werden können. Wenn es z.B. um die Beurteilungen von Flügen oder Hotels geht, wäre ein implizites Testverfahren nur schwer, wenn überhaupt, anwendbar.

Zu den impliziten Messmethoden gehören Bildassoziationstests beruhend auf dem Response-Time-Paradigma, Verhaltensbeobachtungen oder Messungen des Blickverlaufs, der Reaktionszeit, die Darstellungen im Tachistoskop oder Emotion-Tracking.

Implizite Beweggründe sind „automatisch“, „spontan“ und „intuitiv“, aber nur beschränkt in Worte fassbar. Diese Beweggründe mittels eines expliziten Verfahrens zu messen, liefert keine verlässlichen Resultate oder Insights.

Insbesondere für die Beurteilung von Inseraten, Plakaten, TV-Spots, etc. eigenen sich implizite Messmethoden besser. Denn sie sagen viel über die Emotionen aus, welche auf dem individuellen Motiv- und Wertsystem des Probanden basieren.

LimbiCODE® in der Praxis

Analyse und Gegenüberstellung der TV-Spots der Marke Ticinella 2009 und 2013

Im Rahmen einer von uns finanzierten Studie (n= 967, gem. Bevölkerung) wurden zwei TV-Spots der Marke Ticinella mit der Methode „Emotional Tracking“ erhoben und nach LimbiCODE-Personas ausgewertet.

Die Emotionskurven zeigen, wie positiv oder negativ sich die Probanden durch die einzelnen Sequenzen angesprochen gefühlt haben. Die Betrachtung der kumulierten Resultate lässt bereits gewisse Schlüsse zu, aber erst die Aufschlüsselung der Emotionen nach LimbiCODE-Personas zeigt, ob die Spots von der effektiven Zielgruppe positiv bewertet werden. Die Beurteilung von limbischen Typen, welche nicht zur Zielgruppe gehören, ist, im Sinne einer Gegenprobe, zwar interessant, aber für die Beurteilung der Wirkung jedoch irrelevant.

Methode “ Emotional Tracking“ misst Fühlen anstatt Denken

Bei dieser Messmethode bewerten die Probanden während der Betrachtung des TV-Spots durch Verschieben der Maus nach links (negativ) oder rechts (positiv) , ob sie das, was sie gerade sehen, anspricht oder nicht. Da für die Bewertung nur sehr wenig Zeit zur Verfügung steht, hat diese Methode einen stark impliziten Charakter. Dies bedeutet, dass die Beurteilung in erster Linie durch das Fühlen und nicht durch den Verstand beeinflusst wird.

Die Skala beim Emotional Tracking reicht von – 500 bis +500. Diese Werte werden allerdings in der Praxis nie erreicht, da die Probanden keine so grossen Bewegungen mit der Maus ausführen.

Bei der Beurteilung eines TV-Spots müssen Werten unter +200 als unbefriedigend betrachtet werden.

Zielgruppe der Marke Ticinella

Um die TV-Spots beurteilen zu können, muss die limbische Zielgruppe definiert werden.
Da wir dieses Projekt nicht im Auftrag des Herstellers (Rapelli) durchgeführt haben, stützen wir uns bezüglich Zielgruppe auf Annahmen. Die Annahme, dass die Zielgruppe in südlichen Teil des LimbiCODE-Hexagons liegt, begründet sich auf folgenden Fakten:

  • Distribution: Der Hauptvertriebskanal ist Coop
  • Preisstellung: Die Marke wird bei Coop weder als Premiummarke noch als Billigmarke geführt, sondern ist preislich in der Mitte angesiedelt
  • Mafo: Der Auswertung der Emotionskurven des TC-Spots 2013 stützt die Vermutung, dass die Zielgruppe im Süden des LimbiCODE-Hexagons angesiedelt ist

LimbiCODE® in der Marktforschung

TV Spot 2009

Auswertung des TV Spots Ticinella 2009
(Frauen & Männer, Alterssegment 14 – 65 J.)

Interpretation der Emotionskurven

  • Als erstes fällt auf, dass der Spot die Performer, welche nicht zur Zielgruppe gehören, am meisten anspricht. Man kann davon ausgehen, dass die Aspekte Luxus und Erotik die Ursache für den „Appeal“ bei den Performern ist.Zudem ergab eine Auswertung nach Geschlecht, dass der Spot Männer mehr anspricht als Frauen. Dies ist deshalb nicht ideal, weil 75% aller Einkäufe (Studie Migros 2010) von Frauen getätigt werden.
  • Bewahrer und Disziplinierte, welche zur Zielgruppe gehören, fühlen sich von Spot nicht wirklich angesprochen (Werte zwischen 40 und 110)
  • Harmoniser, welche ebenfalls zur Zielgruppe gehören, lehnen den Spot sogar komplett ab
  • Hedonisten und Pioniere bewegen sich im Mittelfeld, gehören aber nicht zur Zielgruppe
  • Der Spot spricht leicht mehr Männer an, als Frauen, was allerdings nicht überrascht
  • Wie die Auswertung nach LimbiCODE-Personas und Geschlechtern zeigt, spricht der Spot die Zielgruppe nicht an

TV Spot 2013

Auswertung des TV Spots Ticinella 2013
(Frauen & Männer, Alterssegment 14 – 65 J.)

Interpretation der Emotionskurven

  • Der Spot 2013 spricht die Zielgruppe deutlich mehr an, als jener von 2009
  • Aber auch der Spot 2013 hat Optimierungspotential, was der Kurvenverlauf deutlich aufzeigt
  • Der Spot wird von Disziplinierten und Bewahrern, welche als Kernzielgruppe bezeichnet werden können, am positivsten beurteilt
  • Performer und Pioniere stehen dem Spot neutral gegenüber, was nicht entscheidend ist, da diese beiden Personas nicht zur Zielgruppe gehören
  • Das etwas klischeehafte Intro sowie das Premiumkonzept (Ingredienzen) und die (leicht erotische) Zweisamkeit beim Verzehr, wird von Hedonisten und Harmonisern am schlechtestem beurteilt, da diese beiden Personas eine andere Wertehaltung haben.
  • Der Spot spricht Frauen (75% aller Einkäufe, Quelle: Studie Migros 2010), mehr an
  • Der Spot 2013 erreicht deutlich bessere Werte als jener von 2009 und spricht sowohl die limbische Zielgruppe als auch die Frauen an. Der Spot hat aber noch Optimierungspotential

Schlussfolgerung

  • Der Spot 2009 (unten) muss aufgrund aller Werte als sehr schwach bezeichnet werden. Zudem wird er von Performern am positivsten beurteilt, was ein deutlicher Hinweis darauf ist, dass sowohl Bilder als auch Story nicht den Motiven und Werten der Zielgruppe entsprechen und diese deshalb nicht positiv decodiert werden.
  • Der Spot 2013 performt deutlich besser. Er spricht die Bewahrer und Disziplinierten an, welche einen wichtigen Teil der Zielgruppe darstellen. Allerdings erreicht der Spot die Harmonisern nicht, welche auch zur Zielgruppe gehören
  • Der Spot 2013 hat gutes Optimierungspotential. Aufgrund der detaillierten Analyse der Emotionskurven könnte ganz gezielt bestimmte Sequenzen verändert werden, sodass sie den Motiven und Werten der Harmoniser besser entsprechen